The co-teacher, Pitso, with whom I work and ride to school, parks his car under a certain tree at school everyday. In all the time that I’ve been here, I’ve never noticed that there are berries on the tree. Only recently has Pitso complained about the berries falling on his car and making a mess. Even more recently, kids at school have been trying to reach and gather the berries from the same tree.

The berries are just smaller than an average-sized blueberry, and they are either green or orange, presumably depending on ripeness. I haven’t tried one yet, but I’m assuming that they will be tart.

The kids are practically climbing on each other to reach the berries, and some more resourceful kids had climbed into the tree. Fortunately, the tree is not one of the many thorn trees found in the area, but it is definitely a scratchy tree. The berries would have to be particularly good to entice me to climb among the thick branches.

