I know the wannabe singer in purple. He is crazy loud!

I know the wannabe singer in purple. He is crazy loud!

Would have watched the dancers longer, but music was way too loud.

Would have watched the dancers longer, but music was way too loud.

This band is quite good. It's a high school group from Soweto. Membership is highly competitive.

This band is quite good. It’s a high school group from Soweto. Membership is highly competitive.

Dancing was excellent, but once again the music was unbearably loud.

Dancing was excellent, but once again the music was unbearably loud.

At both the small shopping complex in my village and in Polokwane near the taxi rank, there is often a crowd gathered around several large speakers and one or two performers (singers/dancers and a DJ). The first time I saw this, I thought it was a promotional for a store, but have realized that’s not the case. It seems to be a money raising event for the singer, or just as likely, the DJ is promoting or “advertising” himself for hire at other events (weddings, parties, etc.).

Typically, the music is played so loudly that I can stand to get close for only a minute or two. The locals, on the other hand, will gather around in large numbers, often with infants in tow.

Unfortunately, the music I hear most often is too loud and too synthesized. The old traditional tribal songs, which are typically sung a cappella, would appeal to me a lot more than what is commonly performed. Too bad that I rarely, if ever, hear anything remotely close to what I would like to hear.